Townsend, Tennessee - Great Smoky Mountains National Park

Welcome to the Fishing Report from Townsend, Tennessee.  It was cold again this morning, 23 degrees.  The sun is shining and Great Smoky Mountains National Park is vividly visible from my window.  Traffic was light this morning.  I probably saw 10 vehicles on my way to work.  But, yesterday was active, at least at our shop.  I went on my almost daily walk yesterday around town.  I kept running into local people who commented on all the cars and trucks in our parking lot.  We had a lot of activities going on here and the anglers came out in fairly large numbers.  Some people stay for hours on Saturday which makes our parking lot look full to those who don’t understand what is going on here.  But, we are busy and thankful for that.  It’s those snow and ice days that are hurting us.

We may get some more snow soon.  Though there is snow in the forecast tonight the chance is greater on Tuesday.  The days will be warm and the snow won’t be a problem for very long.

Little River is clear and cold.  Jack, Joe and Ross went fishing yesterday afternoon after Jack’s tying demonstration.  I don’t know how well they did. If you do go fishing use nymphs, heavily weighted and fished deep.  Right now you need to get the fly right in front of the trout.  When the water is this cold they do not tend to swim far to get some food.

I watched and listened to Jack yesterday.  I took notes too.  I found he is tying with some materials we don’t carry in the shop.  I’ll take care of that.  He uses a lot of ostrich feathers, herl and the larger feathers on the plume.  He uses colors we don’t have.  He also likes Live Rubber for legs.  That has been hard to get lately.  I need to search further for that.

Jack and I have done a lot of fishing over the past 15 years.  Yesterday he was talking about how he used to see more larger brown trout in Little River than he does now.  His largest Smokies brown is 30”.  He has caught plenty of them in the 20” to 26” range.  And when he and I go fishing he always catches many more than I do.  He can cast better and he concentrates on fishing. 

I sit down and watch the stream.  Jack keeps on fishing.  When we are tarpon fishing I often give my turn to him so I can relax.  Jack keeps on fishing.  I sit down and eat lunch.  Jack eats lunch while watching for more tarpon to swim by.  On the lake I take a beer break.  Jack keeps on fishing.  When we are kayaking I paddle to our next wading destination.  Jack paddles faster, then stops to fish in the ocean in deeper water while I catch up.  I bet in a given day is fly is in the water at least three times as long as mine.  Maybe that is one of the reasons he catches a lot more fish than I do.

Ross commented yesterday about my log on the Madison River in Yellowstone National Park.  At first I didn’t know what he was talking about.  But, last year Jack pointed the log out to Ross.  He told Ross that log is where I like to sit and watch the other guys fish.  I remember that log well.  I’ve done some great stream watching sitting on that log.  There is a fork in it that make a perfect, comfortable perch for me.  I hope it doesn’t wash away.

Have a great day and thank you for being here with us.

Byron Begley
January 23, 2011

Respond To: Byron@LittleRiverOutfitters.com


Volunteer for Troutfest

FLY TYING CLASSES

Our fly tying classes will be offered in January and February 2011.   To sign up just call the shop at 877-448-3474.  You can read more on our website in the Schools Section.  The fly tying class schedule follows:

Saturday January 8 – Beginner Fly Tying
Saturday January 15 – Intermediate Fly Tying
Saturday January 22 – Advanced Fly Tying
Saturday February 5 – Beginner Fly Tying
Saturday February 19 – Intermediate Fly Tying
Saturday February 26 – Advanced Fly Tying

FLY FISHING CLASSES

Our fly fishing classes will be offered from March to October 2011.   To sign up just call the shop at 877-448-3474.  You can read more on our website in the Schools Section.  The fly fishing class schedule follows:

Saturday March 26 – Beginner Day One
Saturday April 9 – Beginner Day One
Saturday April 30 – Beginner Day One
Sunday May 1 – Beginner Onstream Day Two
Saturday May 7 – Beginner Day One
Saturday May 21 – Beginner Day One
Sunday May 22 – Beginner Onstream Day Two
Saturday June 11 – Beginner Day One
Saturday June 25 – Beginner Day One
Sunday June 26 – Beginner Onstream Day Two
Saturday July 9 – Beginner Day One
Saturday July 23 – Beginner Day One
Sunday July 24 – Beginner Onstream Day Two
Saturday September 10 – Beginner Day One
Saturday September 24 – Beginner Day One
Sunday September 25 – Beginner Onstream Day Two
Saturday October 8 – Beginner Day One
Saturday October 22 – Beginner Day One
Sunday October 23 – Beginner Onstream Day Two

Respond to: byron@littleriveroutfitters.com


Home - Contact Us - About Us - Fishing Report - Online Catalog - Message Board - Sitemap