Townsend, Tennessee - Great Smoky Mountains National Park

Welcome to the Fishing Report from Townsend, Tennessee.  It is overcast, foggy as heck and 38 degrees in town.  I can’t see the peaks in Great Smoky Mountains National Park yet, due to the fog.  We should get some rain today.  It is quiet around here.  I didn’t see hardly any traffic on the streets this morning. 

Little River is flowing well but the level is dropping.  Right now the flow is 440 cubic feet per second.  Median flow for this date is 343 cfs.  This might be a good day to fish.  The cloud cover and rain will help.  The water is cold though.  Don’t expect great number of trout.  You might catch some nice ones though.   I would use nymphs or maybe streamers and fish them deep. 

Mike Adams is tying here today.  Mike is a guide from the Tri-Cities area.  He has some great patterns he’s come up with for the South Holston and other tailwaters in that area.  They will probably work in our tailwaters here too.  The South Holston has been fishing well for big trout.  Jack had an excellent day there this week.

You can come by today to watch Mike tie and ask questions.  He will begin at 10:00 am and tie until 2:00 pm.  It’s free, just come on by.

We are also holding a fly tying class today.  Walter and Brian are teaching it.  The class is full.  I think it is a beginner class.

All the Troutfest printing for advertising in the fly shops and sporting goods stores around our state and others.  We even advertise in Indiana and Ohio.  The banquet tickets are here too.  Actually, Bill Bolinger took them home.  He and Sheila handle the ticket sales.  They can be bought online, by calling here or you can purchase them while you are in the shop.  The actual credit card transactions will be processed at Bill and Sheila’s house.  They have one of the Little River Chapter of TU’s credit card processing machines.  They will mail them to you when you order.

We’ll start mailing the advertising packages to the stores next week.

I hope you all have a great weekend and thank you for being here with us.

Byron Begley
February 5, 2011

Respond To: Byron@LittleRiverOutfitters.com


Volunteer for Troutfest

FLY TYING CLASSES

Our fly tying classes will be offered in January and February 2011.   To sign up just call the shop at 877-448-3474.  You can read more on our website in the Schools Section.  The fly tying class schedule follows:

Saturday January 8 – Beginner Fly Tying
Saturday January 15 – Intermediate Fly Tying
Saturday January 22 – Advanced Fly Tying
Saturday February 5 – Beginner Fly Tying
Saturday February 19 – Intermediate Fly Tying
Saturday February 26 – Advanced Fly Tying

FLY FISHING CLASSES

Our fly fishing classes will be offered from March to October 2011.   To sign up just call the shop at 877-448-3474.  You can read more on our website in the Schools Section.  The fly fishing class schedule follows:

Saturday March 26 – Beginner Day One
Saturday April 9 – Beginner Day One
Saturday April 30 – Beginner Day One
Sunday May 1 – Beginner Onstream Day Two
Saturday May 7 – Beginner Day One
Saturday May 21 – Beginner Day One
Sunday May 22 – Beginner Onstream Day Two
Saturday June 11 – Beginner Day One
Saturday June 25 – Beginner Day One
Sunday June 26 – Beginner Onstream Day Two
Saturday July 9 – Beginner Day One
Saturday July 23 – Beginner Day One
Sunday July 24 – Beginner Onstream Day Two
Saturday September 10 – Beginner Day One
Saturday September 24 – Beginner Day One
Sunday September 25 – Beginner Onstream Day Two
Saturday October 8 – Beginner Day One
Saturday October 22 – Beginner Day One
Sunday October 23 – Beginner Onstream Day Two

Respond to: byron@littleriveroutfitters.com


Home - Contact Us - About Us - Fishing Report - Online Catalog - Message Board - Sitemap