Townsend, Tennessee - Great Smoky Mountains National Park

Welcome to the Fishing Report. It is a cold, overcast morning here in Townsend. The forecast is looking like the clouds will move out and leave us with a beautiful weekend. Next week the warmup will continue. Spring is just around the corner.

This weekend is supposed to be clear with highs in the 50's. It will be a great opportunity to get out and shake off some of that cabin fever. Don't expect perfect fishing conditions. Fishing in the Smokies is still going to be slow. Even though the daytime highs are very pleasant we are still getting very cold overnight lows. It is these overnight temps that have a great influence on the water temperatures. Even if it gets pleasantly warm during the day, if the air temperature crashes at night it will undo the warming that happened all day.
I don't want to discourage anyone from going fishing. It will be too pretty of a weekend to sit home and wait for the bugs to start hatching. Get out there and drag some nymphs through the pools.
Next week everything is supposed to keep warming up. If that continues then we will soon be looking for the Blue Quills and Quill Gordons to start hatching.

If you head to the mountains this weekend I would continue to focus on nymph patterns and a lot of weight to get them down to where the trout are. BH Prince, BH Tellico, Copper Johns, etc.

If you are interest in the state of fisheries in Great Smoky Mountains National Park then Thursday February 17 at 7pm is a day and time that should be on your calendar.
Matt Kulp and Steve Moore - Great Smoky Mountains National Park Fishery Biologists, will present An Update of Fisheries Activities in GSMNP. It will be Thursday February 17, 2011 at 7pm at the Wears Valley Fire Department. The presentation will cover general trout biology, brook trout restoration status and future plans, acid rain update and a general comments and question session. FREE handouts, reports, and information will be available for the public regarding fish, water quality, brook trout restoration, and other Park issues.

Brian Courtney will be here at the Shop for a FREE Fly Tying Demo tomorrow from 10am till 2pm. Brian is a great fly tyer and helps to teach our fly tying classes. Stop by, grab a cup of coffee and be prepared to learn.

Have a great day and thank you for being here with us.

Daniel Drake
February 11, 2011 

2011 Tennessee Trout Unlimited Summer Camp

Tennessee TU is sponsoring a week-long summer aquatic biology and trout fishing camp at Great Smoky Mountain Institute at Tremont. The camp will be held Monday, June 20 - Saturday, June 25 and is for middle school-age boys and girls. Cost of the camp is $465. Go to TU Clinch River Chapter website, www.crctu.com for more information and an application.  Applications are due March 1st.  This is an opportunity of a lifetime for young people.

Respond To: Byron@LittleRiverOutfitters.com


Volunteer for Troutfest

FLY TYING CLASSES

Our fly tying classes will be offered in January and February 2011.   To sign up just call the shop at 877-448-3474.  You can read more on our website in the Schools Section.  The fly tying class schedule follows:

Saturday January 8 – Beginner Fly Tying
Saturday January 15 – Intermediate Fly Tying
Saturday January 22 – Advanced Fly Tying
Saturday February 5 – Beginner Fly Tying
Saturday February 19 – Intermediate Fly Tying
Saturday February 26 – Advanced Fly Tying

FLY FISHING CLASSES

Our fly fishing classes will be offered from March to October 2011.   To sign up just call the shop at 877-448-3474.  You can read more on our website in the Schools Section.  The fly fishing class schedule follows:

Saturday March 26 – Beginner Day One
Saturday April 9 – Beginner Day One
Saturday April 30 – Beginner Day One
Sunday May 1 – Beginner Onstream Day Two
Saturday May 7 – Beginner Day One
Saturday May 21 – Beginner Day One
Sunday May 22 – Beginner Onstream Day Two
Saturday June 11 – Beginner Day One
Saturday June 25 – Beginner Day One
Sunday June 26 – Beginner Onstream Day Two
Saturday July 9 – Beginner Day One
Saturday July 23 – Beginner Day One
Sunday July 24 – Beginner Onstream Day Two
Saturday September 10 – Beginner Day One
Saturday September 24 – Beginner Day One
Sunday September 25 – Beginner Onstream Day Two
Saturday October 8 – Beginner Day One
Saturday October 22 – Beginner Day One
Sunday October 23 – Beginner Onstream Day Two

Respond to: byron@littleriveroutfitters.com


Home - Contact Us - About Us - Fishing Report - Online Catalog - Message Board - Sitemap