Townsend, Tennessee - Great Smoky Mountains National Park

Welcome to the Fishing Report.  Another clear and beautiful morning again in Townsend, Tennessee further indicates that Spring is fast approaching.  There are quite a few people on the streets but I did not see any on the paths that meander through town.  I’ll be out there soon on my bicycle.  This is technically my day off for the week.  I’m here because Daniel did not know I would be off.  So, I needed to be here early to write this report.

The river is low and clear.  I stopped last night on my way home to check the water temperature.  It was 46 degrees.  I thought it would be warmer than that.  This morning at 8:15 the temperature was 43 degrees.  The water gets a little warmer every day.  Flow is 182 cubic feet per second.  That is way down from normal for this time of year.  Median flow for this date is 390 cfs.  The current flow looks a lot like it would during the summer. 

Fishing is picking up.  Bill just told me he fished on the West Prong yesterday.  He was using a dry and a dropper.  Out of the dozen trout he caught, two were on the dry fly.  Alex, who is in charge of the fly fishing program at Blackberry Farm was in yesterday.  He caught a few fish one day this week.  He also saw a few Quill Gordons.  He caught one bug and looked closely at it.  It was what he thought it was.  Don’t get too excited yet.  He did not see any trout rising to them.  And he only saw a few over a several hour period.  But they will start coming off in larger numbers soon. 

The ten day weather forecast indicates we’ll see high temperatures in the upper 60’s, then upper 50’s then back in the 60’s again.  Lows at night will be in the 40’s.  That water is going to get warmer as time goes on.  It looks like there is a chance for rain.  I hope so.  We need it bad.

So, if you go I would use nymphs or a dry and dropper.  Afternoons will be best.  The trout are spooky.  Alex saw some large fish on the bottom in deep holes.  The low clear water makes fishing tough.  I would say you should do best late in the day when the water is warmest and the sun is setting behind the mountains.

We’ll see a lot of anglers out this weekend.  Saturday will be sunny and the temperature will be in the mid 60’s.

Travis Reynolds will be tying at the shop between 10:00 and 2:00.  He is very active on our message board so if you visit there you probably know him.  He is an excellent fly fisherman and fly tyer.  Just come on by and sit down.  It’s free and you don’t need a reservation. 

I going on a long bike ride in a few minutes.  Then I’ll probably just take it easy the rest of the day.  I bet I’ll get my fishing gear ready too.

Have a great day and thank you for being here with us.

Byron Begley
February 17, 2011  

2011 Tennessee Trout Unlimited Summer Camp

Tennessee TU is sponsoring a week-long summer aquatic biology and trout fishing camp at Great Smoky Mountain Institute at Tremont. The camp will be held Monday, June 20 - Saturday, June 25 and is for middle school-age boys and girls. Cost of the camp is $465. Go to TU Clinch River Chapter website, www.crctu.com for more information and an application.  Applications are due March 1st.  This is an opportunity of a lifetime for young people.

Respond To: Byron@LittleRiverOutfitters.com


Volunteer for Troutfest

FLY TYING CLASSES

Our fly tying classes will be offered in January and February 2011.   To sign up just call the shop at 877-448-3474.  You can read more on our website in the Schools Section.  The fly tying class schedule follows:

Saturday January 8 – Beginner Fly Tying
Saturday January 15 – Intermediate Fly Tying
Saturday January 22 – Advanced Fly Tying
Saturday February 5 – Beginner Fly Tying
Saturday February 19 – Intermediate Fly Tying
Saturday February 26 – Advanced Fly Tying

FLY FISHING CLASSES

Our fly fishing classes will be offered from March to October 2011.   To sign up just call the shop at 877-448-3474.  You can read more on our website in the Schools Section.  The fly fishing class schedule follows:

Saturday March 26 – Beginner Day One
Saturday April 9 – Beginner Day One
Saturday April 30 – Beginner Day One
Sunday May 1 – Beginner Onstream Day Two
Saturday May 7 – Beginner Day One
Saturday May 21 – Beginner Day One
Sunday May 22 – Beginner Onstream Day Two
Saturday June 11 – Beginner Day One
Saturday June 25 – Beginner Day One
Sunday June 26 – Beginner Onstream Day Two
Saturday July 9 – Beginner Day One
Saturday July 23 – Beginner Day One
Sunday July 24 – Beginner Onstream Day Two
Saturday September 10 – Beginner Day One
Saturday September 24 – Beginner Day One
Sunday September 25 – Beginner Onstream Day Two
Saturday October 8 – Beginner Day One
Saturday October 22 – Beginner Day One
Sunday October 23 – Beginner Onstream Day Two

Respond to: byron@littleriveroutfitters.com


Home - Contact Us - About Us - Fishing Report - Online Catalog - Message Board - Sitemap