Townsend, Tennessee - Great Smoky Mountains National Park

Welcome to the Fishing Report.  I got tied up this morning with city business so this report is late.  Sorry.  It was chilly when I came to work but the temperature will warm up to the 60’s again today.  And, we will enjoy highs in the 60’s to the high 60’s for the next few days.  Spring is coming on fast and the chance for more winter weather is less likely every day as we look into the long term forecast.

Flow in Little River is 214 cubic feet per second compared to median flow of 353 cfs.  The water temperature this morning was 46 degrees in town.

Fishing is getting good.  Ethan went yesterday for a hour or so and caught ten trout on the Middle Prong.  Then he came back to the shop to wait for a friend.  They went back into the Park to fish all day.  I’m sure they did well, probably very well. 

I still have not heard of any major hatches but that should come at any time.  Nymphs are working and some anglers have been having some success with dry flies.  I think nymphs prevail right now over dries.

The large trout are active as you know if you have read this report over the past couple of days.  Fishing should be best late in the day because the water will be warmer. 

My plan is to fish a lake next week and check out the smallmouth bass fishing.  I’m spending my day off this week to get the boat checked out at the dealership.  So, next week we’ll be ready to go.  With my luck, we’ll have a snowstorm next week. 

Several of us are working hard on Troutfest right now.  Jack and I worked last night on the vendors.  We are trying to get commitments from last year’s vendors so we can assign new vendors in the spots that will be vacant.  Last year all vendor space was sold out.  We have a waiting list now.

Next week we will call 100 stores in the East US to ask them to display our Troutfest advertising materials.  Sarah Weeks and I are going to make the calls.  We will talk to the managers or owners and ask for their help.  They almost always jump on board.  They will hand out 20,000 small cards to drive potential attendees to the Troutfest website. 

The Troutfest Journal is doing well.  We won’t make much money on it this year but we won’t lose any either.  Ad sales have gone fairly well but it is hard to sell an ad in a magazine that has no history.  Next year it will be easier.  We will actually have a magazine to show advertisers. 

So, Spring is here for now, the fishing is getting good and everyone is happy including me

GREAT SMOKY MOUNTAINS FISHERIES PUBLIC MEETING TO BE HELD IN TOWNSEND.

Park Service fisheries management is holding a public meeting in Townsend on Thursday March 3rd at 7:00 pm.  The meeting will be held at City Hall in the Old Townsend School Auditorium.  CLICK HERE FOR A PDF WITH MORE INFORMATION. 

Have a great day and Thank you for being here with us.

Byron Begley
February 23, 2011

Respond To: Byron@LittleRiverOutfitters.com


Volunteer for Troutfest

FLY TYING CLASSES

Our fly tying classes will be offered in January and February 2011.   To sign up just call the shop at 877-448-3474.  You can read more on our website in the Schools Section.  The fly tying class schedule follows:

Saturday January 8 – Beginner Fly Tying
Saturday January 15 – Intermediate Fly Tying
Saturday January 22 – Advanced Fly Tying
Saturday February 5 – Beginner Fly Tying
Saturday February 19 – Intermediate Fly Tying
Saturday February 26 – Advanced Fly Tying

FLY FISHING CLASSES

Our fly fishing classes will be offered from March to October 2011.   To sign up just call the shop at 877-448-3474.  You can read more on our website in the Schools Section.  The fly fishing class schedule follows:

Saturday March 26 – Beginner Day One
Saturday April 9 – Beginner Day One
Saturday April 30 – Beginner Day One
Sunday May 1 – Beginner Onstream Day Two
Saturday May 7 – Beginner Day One
Saturday May 21 – Beginner Day One
Sunday May 22 – Beginner Onstream Day Two
Saturday June 11 – Beginner Day One
Saturday June 25 – Beginner Day One
Sunday June 26 – Beginner Onstream Day Two
Saturday July 9 – Beginner Day One
Saturday July 23 – Beginner Day One
Sunday July 24 – Beginner Onstream Day Two
Saturday September 10 – Beginner Day One
Saturday September 24 – Beginner Day One
Sunday September 25 – Beginner Onstream Day Two
Saturday October 8 – Beginner Day One
Saturday October 22 – Beginner Day One
Sunday October 23 – Beginner Onstream Day Two

Respond to: byron@littleriveroutfitters.com


Home - Contact Us - About Us - Fishing Report - Online Catalog - Message Board - Sitemap