Townsend, Tennessee - Great Smoky Mountains National Park

Welcome to the Fishing Report. It is a beautiful morning here in Townsend. The sky is a pale blue. You can't tell that it is supposed to rain tonight and all day tomorrow. We could still use the rain. Currently we are still 1.56 inches below normal rainfall totals. it is no fun having high water to deal with in the Spring but without it we will run out of water in the late Summer.

Water levels today in the Little River are just slightly above normal. Spring "normal" levels are still pushing the high side of easy wading and fishing. No matter what the time of year caution has to be used any time you are wading in the water or even walking the banks near it.

Ok all the bad cautionary info is out of the way. Trout fishing in Great Smoky Mountains National Park is improving! Water temps are creeping up and people are starting to see more mayflies each day. Everything is going to bust loose very soon.
The first hatches are the Quill Gordons and the Blue Quills. Quill Gordon mayflies are big, size #10 and #12. Quill Gordons are one of the mayflies that hatch below the surface and swim to the surface in their adult for to emerge. This process leaves them vulnerable beneath the water and an easier meal for a Winter-weary trout. To imitate the bug as it is making its way to the surface, a classicly tied Quill Gordon Wet Fly is an excellent pattern. You can fish the wet flies the traditional way of letting it swing in the current, or you can fish it as a dropper below one of the larger dry fly patterns.
I am pretty sure that Quill Gordons, Blue Quills and Blue Duns hatch in all the major streams of the Smokies. Hatches will appear in lower elevations first and move upstream as water temps warm. The insects you will find in these early days of Spring will be mostly darker in color and in a slate gray tone. Attractor patterns like Parachute Adams work well.

Water temps are still cold so definitely don't leave the nymphs at home. Nymphs are still going to be your best bet for quantity of trout. Wet flies and soft hackle flies are a great addition to the normal collection of nymph patterns. Pheasant tails, Prince and tellico continue to be great producers.

New items are showing up each day. I haven't been able to get very many of them on the Online Catalog yet so if there is something that you have seen an advertisement about or read about in a magazine, give us a call. We may have gotten it in or it might be on the way.

Have a great day and Thank you for being here with us.

Daniel Drake
March 4, 2011

Respond to: Byron@LittleRiverOutfitters.com


Volunteer for Troutfest

FLY FISHING CLASSES

Our fly fishing classes will be offered from March to October 2011.   To sign up just call the shop at 877-448-3474.  You can read more on our website in the Schools Section.  The fly fishing class schedule follows:

Saturday March 26 – Beginner Day One
Saturday April 9 – Beginner Day One
Saturday April 30 – Beginner Day One
Sunday May 1 – Beginner Onstream Day Two
Saturday May 7 – Beginner Day One
Saturday May 21 – Beginner Day One
Sunday May 22 – Beginner Onstream Day Two
Saturday June 11 – Beginner Day One
Saturday June 25 – Beginner Day One
Sunday June 26 – Beginner Onstream Day Two
Saturday July 9 – Beginner Day One
Saturday July 23 – Beginner Day One
Sunday July 24 – Beginner Onstream Day Two
Saturday September 10 – Beginner Day One
Saturday September 24 – Beginner Day One
Sunday September 25 – Beginner Onstream Day Two
Saturday October 8 – Beginner Day One
Saturday October 22 – Beginner Day One
Sunday October 23 – Beginner Onstream Day Two

Respond to: byron@littleriveroutfitters.com


Home - Contact Us - About Us - Fishing Report - Online Catalog - Message Board - Sitemap