Townsend, Tennessee - Great Smoky Mountains National Park

Welcome to the Fishing Report. It is cold and overcast this morning in Townsend. From the Shop I can't even see the mountains. We got a little over a tenth of an inch of rain in the gauge in the last 24 hours. Mt. LeConte received almost an inch of rain and Newfound Gap got over half an inch.

Stream levels on Little River are up some from yesterday. They are still fishable but be careful. With Spring water levels it doesn't take much rain to bring them up to that unfishable level.

If you are headed out fishing earlier in the day I would start with nymphs. Maybe hedge your bets and fish a larger nymph with a small trailer fly. Dry fly hatches continue in the afternoons starting around 2pm. Ethan was fishing up in the Park yesterday and had a good time catching trout on small Blue Wing Olive and Blue Quill dry flies.

New products have been arriving. We should be getting some Diamondglass fiberglass rods in any day now. They are very nice casting rods, not heavy, and not too expensive. These will be excellent rods for fishing in the mountains. Scientific Anglers Textured fly lines are on their way too. These use the same technology as the Sharkskin lines but with some modifications. They still use the micro-replication technology to texture the surface of the fly line causing less friction between the line and the guides. Instead of the sharp Sharkskin surface it is a more rounded texture. This helps cut down on noise also. The line still shoots incredibly well and floats high. The cost is better too. $79.95 instead of $99.

This is a short report but it is running late and there is a huge pile of boxes from Chota waiting for me downstairs. Byron will be back tomorrow.

Have a great day and thank you for being here with us.

Daniel Drake
March 31, 2011

Respond to: Byron@LittleRiverOutfitters.com


Volunteer for Troutfest

FLY FISHING CLASSES

Our fly fishing classes will be offered from March to October 2011.   To sign up just call the shop at 877-448-3474.  You can read more on our website in the Schools Section.  The fly fishing class schedule follows:

Saturday March 26 – Beginner Day One
Saturday April 9 – Beginner Day One
Saturday April 30 – Beginner Day One
Sunday May 1 – Beginner Onstream Day Two
Saturday May 7 – Beginner Day One
Saturday May 21 – Beginner Day One
Sunday May 22 – Beginner Onstream Day Two
Saturday June 11 – Beginner Day One
Saturday June 25 – Beginner Day One
Sunday June 26 – Beginner Onstream Day Two
Saturday July 9 – Beginner Day One
Saturday July 23 – Beginner Day One
Sunday July 24 – Beginner Onstream Day Two
Saturday September 10 – Beginner Day One
Saturday September 24 – Beginner Day One
Sunday September 25 – Beginner Onstream Day Two
Saturday October 8 – Beginner Day One
Saturday October 22 – Beginner Day One
Sunday October 23 – Beginner Onstream Day Two

Respond to: byron@littleriveroutfitters.com


Home - Contact Us - About Us - Fishing Report - Online Catalog - Message Board - Sitemap