PDA

View Full Version : Cleats or no cleats?

fishNlady
03-20-2008, 05:31 PM
I recently bough a new pair of Chota wading boots and they came with a set of cleats to put on them. I've never used cleats before. Will they make wading safer in the park streams? Or would they make it trickier in some places?

tire guy
03-20-2008, 06:48 PM
With the rocks I do not use cleats. For me they slide on the hard surface. Around the tailwaters they are useful with the softer surfaces getting in and out of the water. But above all move slow and sure. Be safe a banged knee distracts from a good day out.

Byron Begley
03-20-2008, 09:05 PM
FishNlady,

I have the same boots you do but I don't use them in the Park unless I'm fishing Abrams Creek. I can't say that I have slipped on the round rocks on the Little River, but I don't feel confident with them there. If you bought them here and you don't like them, bring them back and get something else. They work great in the tailwaters and especially in Yellowstone on the lava rocks. There they grip like glue.

Byron

fishNlady
03-21-2008, 12:41 AM
FishNlady,

I have the same boots you do but I don't use them in the Park unless I'm fishing Abrams Creek. I can't say that I have slipped on the round rocks on the Little River, but I don't feel confident with them there. If you bought them here and you don't like them, bring them back and get something else. They work great in the tailwaters and especially in Yellowstone on the lava rocks. There they grip like glue.

Byron

Thanks, Byron

I did buy them from you guys at LRO. I have used them once last sunday at elkmont and metcalf without the cleats and I like them. They fit me much better than the built in boots on my old waders do. Since the cleats are removable. I think I'll keep them and just install the cleats when I'm on the tailwaters or Abram's creek. They are very comfortable boots. I was just curious what the pro/cons of cleats were before I put them on the boots and tried them.