PDA

View Full Version : Underwater hatches??

Ryano
03-27-2008, 06:29 PM
I am fairly new to fly-fishing and I am trying to learn as much as possible.. Its sorda became an addiction.:) I have fished enough now to recognize a hatch and typically found what dry to match it with. I was wondering though, are there also hatches that happen underwater?? And if so, how do you know if its happening? I would hate to be missing out on some aewsome fishing..

Thanks,
Ryan

MBWCC
03-27-2008, 07:22 PM
... I was wondering though, are there also hatches that happen underwater?? And if so, how do you know if its happening? I would hate to be missing out on some aewsome fishing...Virtually all hatches start as "underwater" hatches. Some (many) will progress to emergers that you'll find on the surface (what most people think when they hear the word "hatch"), but the fish will often be feeding underwater on the hatch for quite some time (hour or more) before you notice anything going on at the surface or see insects in the air. The usual cue to an underwater "hatch" in progres is that you see the fish begin moving side to side and opening their mouths (you'll see a white "wink" when they open their mouth; you'll see a silver "flash" from their sides as they pick things off the bottom), or the fish collectively move from one location to another (for example from deeper holes up into the shallower tails of riffles, or from deeper holes to shallower water near the bank). Some underwater hatches never really progress to a classic hatch you will eventually see in the air. For example, stone flies will often crawl to the bank and exit there, or some caddis flies will crawl out of the water on the stream vegetation. In those cases, by the time you see bugs in the air the fish feeding opportunity is often dwindling rapidly.

Flyfishjeep
03-27-2008, 09:42 PM
Ryano-