PDA

View Full Version : Yet another newbie

jzimmerman
03-31-2008, 03:22 PM
Hey guys,

I am a computer engineering student from Mississippi State that just got a co op job with Denso in Maryville. I have bass fished, bream fished, bowfished, crappie fished, even hand grabbed (noodled) for big cats in the tombigbee river all my life. I figured that since I was going to be in the area for the next 8 months or so that I would take the opportunity to learn how to fly fish for trout. I have been reading over these forums the past couple of days and from what I could tell there are a lot of good guys that really know their stuff. I'm looking forward to to making some friends and hopefully catching a fish or two along the way!

David Knapp
03-31-2008, 05:15 PM
Welcome to the board!

Byron Begley
03-31-2008, 08:19 PM
jzimmerman,

Welcome to the board. You will learn a lot about fly fishing here. I've done every kind of fishing in my life since I was a kid including trot lines, jingle poles, and explosives. But I have never had the guts to noodle. It must be a rush to pull one of those big cats out of the water with your bare hands. I guess I've fished for snapping turtles too often and I know what they can do to you. One almost got my finger when I was about 13 years old, It was a 17 pounder, my largest turtle to date. I also used to trap muskrats when I was a kid and wouldn't want to get ahold of one of those by mistake. Come on by the shop and we'll get you started in the sport of fly fishing. You will love Blount County. We're glad to have you here.

Byron

Flyfishjeep
04-04-2008, 04:43 PM
Welcome jzimmerman,
You will really like living near the smokies. Byron is right when he will get you set up. Make sure to ask lots of questions because they all know so much.
Enjoy your time here.

Brook Fan
04-04-2008, 05:13 PM
Welcome and don't be afraid to ask anything.