PDA

View Full Version : Tutorials

UofMontanaAlum
08-25-2008, 05:21 PM
I am just getting started as a fly tier. I started about a year ago, learning the basics from LRO board member, Drag_Line. My father recently picked up the sport of fly fishing and I thought for Christmas this year I would buy him a nice fly box and fill it with flies I tied. I wanted to put a post together of the flies going in his box. Instead of just posting pictures of the flies, I thought it might be a good idea to make tutorials for each fly and before Christmas I will post a picture of the completed fly box. I am always open to critiques so please, if you see something totally off, reply to the post and let me know. I don't want to give my dad any "bad flies". :biggrin:

We'll start with an easy and fun bug to tie.

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b24/Elmobile/PeacockCaddiscopy-1.jpg

ChemEAngler
08-25-2008, 07:37 PM
Looks good. I did the same thing for my dad last year for Christmas. Just seemed to have more thought behind it than a gift card ;).

By the way, how did you make that cool looking step sequence thing? Photobucket has really added some cool features lately, but I have yet to fully experiment with them.

Travis

Flyfishjeep
08-25-2008, 08:34 PM
That is a great Idea!!!! My dad would love something like that as well.
Way to be creative.
The tutorial looks great, keep them coming.

UofMontanaAlum
08-25-2008, 09:25 PM
The image above was built in Photoshop CS3, not Photobucket :biggrin:.

Gerry Romer
08-25-2008, 09:57 PM
Just curious. Who is the tutorial for? Is this part of the present?

UofMontanaAlum
08-25-2008, 10:04 PM
No, it is for everyone on LRO. I have been playing with Photoshop and thought this would be a neat idea? If you think its stupid I can take it down? My dad doesn't do much on the internet so I don't have to worry about him seeing this.

Gerry Romer
08-25-2008, 10:26 PM