PDA

View Full Version : Peerless

flyred06
01-28-2009, 06:04 PM
Does anyone have any experience or care to give a voice about the peerless reels that looks like some of the hardy reels?

jmelrod
01-28-2009, 08:02 PM
They are pretty expensive reels. But look pretty nice. I have no personal experience. Most (at least 4) of my reels are Islander. It's a Canadian company that makes some great products.

flyred06
01-29-2009, 09:54 AM
I will check out this Islander reel. I agree peerless is expensive (very). I think my next reel will be a Bauer.:cool:

gmreeves
01-29-2009, 10:05 AM
I picked one or two up at the fly expo in Atlanta over the weekend. They look nice and have some good weight to them. Nice quiet and smooth click and pawl. I cast a rod that had one on it and it seemed to balance it out nicely. Never fished with one though. I know Bill Oyster caught a monster striper on one of his six weights with a click and pawl peerless. I don't think I could afford one right now though. Personally, I think there are many better options out there for less money but if you like it, get it. I hope to buy one one day but that will be far off. They look great on a cane rod.

flyred06
01-29-2009, 10:10 AM
That is where I seen them and played with them. Matter of fact it was at Bill Oysters stand I looked at it and cast his rods. I had posted last week asking if anyone was planning on attending, we could have finally met. I agree those are nice reels but $650 nice I am not sure.

gmreeves
01-29-2009, 12:39 PM
I thought I wasn't going to be able to go but at the last minute I decided to run over on Sunday morning. We were back in Birmingham by 2:00. What did you think of Bill Oyster's rods?

flyred06
01-29-2009, 01:25 PM