PDA

View Full Version : Implications of decreased hunting and fishing

danp413
02-27-2009, 11:08 AM
I think if you've spent any time with Steve Moore, you have probably heard him tell you to keep trout of legal size caught in the park. He believes that the amount of people "catching and releasing" has allowed for the overpopulation of fish, which leads to smaller trout, because the food supply remains the same.

So does the decrease in hunters lead to smaller game? I've heard of states where the deer population is so large, that you are required to bag a doe before you can bag a buck. Just wondering if that will apply in TN. I'm not a hunter, at least not yet, I enjoy fishing too much.

I'll also apologize here to Steve, because I tend to practice C&R more than I harvest in the park. Then again, most of the fish I catch fall under the 7" range.

later
Dan

buzzmcmanus
03-02-2009, 09:39 PM
Dan, I'm no expert in fish and game management, however, TWRA is trying to grow the deer herd in East TN. They limit the shooting of does, so the herd can grow. I normally see more bears than deer where I hunt. Middle and West TN have larger deer herds. Some places allow the shooting of up to 3 does per day for the entire season. That adds up to over 100 deer/person. Of course, noone actually shoots that many.

But, back to your question, deer can actually overgraze themselves and limit their growth. It takes alot of deer in a confined space to do this. The biggest threat is when the population explodes, disease is easily transfered between animals due to being in too close proximity to each other. Again, I'm no expert, this is just an opinion from someone who spends ALOT of time in the woods.

kytroutman
03-03-2009, 09:43 AM
I agree Buzz but not knowing how long you have been hunting, I have a question. Have you seen weight differences in the bucks/does you took a couple of decades ago compared to now?

buzzmcmanus
03-03-2009, 03:35 PM