PDA

View Full Version : Free Flies for Guide and or Info

bones
03-02-2009, 03:34 PM
Some of you may know me from the SEFFF board. Anyway I'm a soldier up at Ft Knox Kentucky. I have fished the Smokies several times since being stationed at Knox; much closer and friendlier than driving home to Va. I'm heading down with my gunner from Iraq the weekend of the 13th of March.

I was wondering about patterns to use, I know what should be hatching but was wondering about specific flies to tie. I have plenty of flies tied up, just wanting to know if there is a particular pattern that is the "Magic Fly". during the summer I hardly use anything but a #16 yella caddis or something very similar. Is it worth carrying a ton of flies in the spring to match the hatch.

I'm also wondering about some of the lower elevation brookie waters i.e. Sam's Creek, Meigs Creek, Indian Creek, and Cosby of course. I ahve also heard rumor of brookies being in the Laurel Creek. (The laurel creek along Laurel Falls trail just up the road from Elkmont). My buddy really wants to get into some specs. I know everything is weather dependent but if the warming trend the are calling for continues will any of these streams be an option. My back up plan is to fish middle prong and the the streams flowing into Abrams in the back of Cades Cove. I had a blast on Parsons branch in Dec and ate 'em up on Mill Creek in Oct and there were some good ones in the lot.

If someone wanted to guide us or toss in some good info. I could giveaway some flies I have tied up that have served me well in the smokies.

Thanks and Have a Good 'Urn,
bones

troutslayer3393
03-02-2009, 06:43 PM