PDA

View Full Version : Tying for late April

cherokeeflyboy
03-23-2009, 10:03 AM
Hey guys do you any suggestions on what I sure be tying for my trip April 18 - 26? Wet flies, Dry flies, nymphs???? Also, is there a place on-line to get the steps since I am new to this tying thing. Thanks in advance for the suggestion and help.

Stonefly
03-23-2009, 03:06 PM
By that time, dry flies should be doing very well. I fished for years with Elk Hair Caddis and seldom anything else in the mtns. They're easy to tie too. Here's a video: http://oregonflyfishingblog.com/2008/05/28/fly-tying-video-easy-elk-hair-caddis/

sb

cherokeeflyboy
03-23-2009, 03:39 PM
By that time, dry flies should be doing very well. I fished for years with Elk Hair Caddis and seldom anything else in the mtns. They're easy to tie too. Here's a video: http://oregonflyfishingblog.com/2008/05/28/fly-tying-video-easy-elk-hair-caddis/

sb

what size's of hooks would be best?

Kytroutbum
03-23-2009, 04:36 PM
I've been tying for late April also. I fish these dries-Mayflies); Parachute Adams (16-12)dark bodied flies, Parachute Hare's Ear (14-12)(Tie like Adams but sub moose for tail and hare's ear dub for body.) A March Brown and a Mr. Rapidan parachute (My favorite)(#14 or 12). For caddis-A 16 or 14 Elk hair caddis will work okay. I prefer a Delaware Adams-Green or Yellow floss Body or a Henryville Caddis(#14's). The EHC will work good- I just get bored and want to throw something they are not familiar with at times. Check out FytyingForum.com and my favorite- Flyanglersonline.com. Pull up the fly tying section- beginner and intermediate are good tutorials. Their Fly Archives, has a wide range of fly patterns with instructions.

Randall Sale
the kytroutbum

cherokeeflyboy
03-23-2009, 08:34 PM