PDA

View Full Version : Thread Size

Brook Fan
05-04-2009, 11:02 PM
I have noticed alot of different thread sizes. For a beginner what would be a strong thread to start out with?
I have a 210 Denier which never breaks while I'm tying, but I have a 70 which is always breaking.

ttas67
05-04-2009, 11:50 PM
Uni 6/0 is pretty strong. it's 135 denier.

Tedious
05-05-2009, 11:47 AM
BF, I'm relatively new to tying as well, but one of the first tenets that most of the beginner's books recommend (and I've got most of 'em) is to mount thread to hook and intentionally break the thread to get the feel of its strength. I tie sizes 12-18 and use 6/0 and 8/0 and that was a good early lesson to learn. Tight Lines! TDS

Brook Fan
05-05-2009, 09:39 PM
Thanks for the information Tedious and ttas67.
I noticed on my thread I used the denier number while you used the 6/0 and 8/0 numbers.

In general discussions should I not use the denier number and stick with the other.

ttas67
05-05-2009, 11:30 PM
the 6/0 and 8/0 designations are not standardized. so, danville's 6/0 is comparable in denier to Uni's 8/0. UTC simply lists their thread by denier. I generally tie with Uni 8/0. the uni threads are bonded, and do not flatten out like the UTC or the danville's does. this is not necessarily better or worse, as each has it's benefits. personally, I think the Uni thread is much easier to tie with (especially for a beginner). The UTC (which is what I believe you're using) will fray more easily and in my opinion, break more readily, particularly if you are using a cheap bobbin.

which brings me to something else ..... thread breakage can often be due to the bobbin. the best thing you can do is get a ceramic tipped bobbin (if you don't already have one). I highly recommend the griffin supreme ceramic. these aren't too expensive, and are the workhorse of tying bobbins.