PDA

View Full Version : Good Day on Walker Camp

Carlito
08-13-2009, 12:22 PM
Hi, all. I'm new to the message board, but a long time GSMNP angler (although not by old-timer standards!). Anyway, I thought I'd share that I had an excellent afternoon session on Walker Camp Prong yesterday. I fished Trout Branch a bit just to check it out but didn't have any luck. In spite of all the people that were out yesterday, I still managed to do really well on Walker Camp fishing a grasshopper w/ a green weenie dropper. I also caught several on a woolly booger I had tied. I was just having a little fun trying to fish one of my first self-tied flies, and I was surprised at how aggressively the trout went after my streamer. I caught 10 bows and a brookie in about 2 hours of fishing.

That's all! I left my camera sitting by the door, but next time I'll post some pix.

Jah!

GrouseMan77
08-13-2009, 02:06 PM
Carlito,

I hate to hear that the exploration of Trout Branch was unsuccessful. I would have loved to scout it out with you but the chores were too many. With dove season approaching I needed to do a little field work.

Carlito
08-16-2009, 09:29 AM
Dude, it looked like it was going to be money. There are a series of really steep runs and small but fairly deep pools that are bound to hold trout. I only went about .25 mi up the creek though. I sure didn't want to end up with a broken leg up that creek by myself! It was really tight fishing too. It is probably only 10 ft wide at in the biggest sections.

Hugh Hartsell
08-16-2009, 10:33 AM
Carlito,
I may be wrong about this, but I looked at Trout Branch a few times last year at the height of the drought and it looked like where it comes across the ledge at the road that it had gone completely dry. There may have been some running water farther back out of sight that I could not see. I would be interested to know if it still holds fish.
Hugh

Carlito
08-17-2009, 10:23 AM
Hugh,