PDA

View Full Version : Korkers Questions

Dancing Bear
03-29-2010, 09:41 AM
Does anyone have the Torrent wading shoe? Would you hike 5-6 miles with a 20-30 lb. pack in them?
Thanks.

Mike

pineman19
04-07-2010, 02:31 PM
Hello,

I don't have the Torrent series boot, but I have been using the older style Wetland boots for a few years for day hiking to remote locations and they have held up pretty well. Better than carrying the extra weight of separate wading boots IMO.

Neal

tjw37909
04-07-2010, 03:48 PM
I bought a pair of Korkers boots this past October, and they are already ruined. I fish 2 days a week usually, and 2 months ago all the stitching around the toe was worn so bad the boots were falling apart. I contacted Korkers and they said that it was wear/tear and not covered in warranty. I tried shoe goo, which is holding the stitching ok, but now the soles randomly come out on their own, and I have taken them out less than 10 times. As soon as I get the money saved up I will get some Simms or something that will last. The Korhers are very comfortable, and the idea behind the soles is great, but I ca't spend a hundred every 4 months on boots.

WVBrookie
04-07-2010, 03:51 PM
I'm on my second pair of Torrents and absolutely love them!! I have literally a couple hundred miles on this pair. I have completed backcountry trips in GSMNP, SNP, RMNP, and YNP. The max I have done in a day is about 15 miles while fishing Timber Creek and Timber Lake in RMNP. I put over ten miles on them this past weekend in GSMNP.

A couple of recommendations:

Ditch the Korkers insole and replace it with Dr. Scholls Gel inserts.
Buy the Aquastealth sole and you never have to change the sole.
Buy them and you will absolutely not be disappointed!

Chris

Grannyknot
04-07-2010, 04:10 PM