PDA

View Full Version : Filter then purify

Hoosier
04-26-2010, 06:19 PM
Just curious if you all typically just filter your water while in the backcountry while in the park, or do you filter and then and then use purifier tabs? Got a Katadyn hiker, but just trying to figure if I should be purifying as well.

Thanks in advance for advise.

SWAMPUS
04-26-2010, 06:43 PM
Can't help you there.I've been fishing in the smokies for 28 yrs.All I carry is a collapsable cup.Been drinking stream water for a long time with no ill effects.Just check for nymphs!

GrouseMan77
04-26-2010, 06:49 PM
Katadyn Vario then consume.

Speckleman5
04-26-2010, 07:30 PM
I'm with you SWAMPUS, I dip and drink.

Oldman
04-26-2010, 07:33 PM
Depends on how thirsty you are. Me if I am camping in the backcountry and have fuel I will boil cus of my higher education. But if I am up on a small stream I will drink untill my thirst is quiched. Been doing that since 72 and never got sink yet. Although my 22 year younger fishing buddy thinks I will die every time.

Owl
04-26-2010, 07:44 PM
Sooner or later....

I've been there. For me, it's not worth the risk of going there ever again.

I have a Purifier. If my buddy is along with his high-tech magic light thing we zap it with that too, just to be sure.

You can always over do it and nothing bad happens. "Under-do-it' and you might be in alot of agony.

Then again, you may never get sick. Luck of the draw with crypto and giardia.

flyman
04-26-2010, 09:11 PM