PDA

View Full Version : Fly ID Book?

Knik
05-24-2010, 07:42 PM
OK guys and gals, gotta question for ya.

I'm new to the sport and am having a hard time with the "fly thing"....:biggrin: Need a good book on flies, knots, and hatches....pocket guide would be great too. Thought you folks could point me in the right direction and help save me some time. Any suggestions would be great and sure help out a ton.

Thanks,
Shannon

BlueRaiderFan
05-24-2010, 09:39 PM
Order them through LRO and you don't have to pay shipping...order them through Orvis and you do:

http://www.orvis.com/store/product.aspx?pf_id=9C1P&dir_id=758&group_id=8791&cat_id=14974&subcat_id=14975

http://www.orvis.com/store/product.aspx?pf_id=9C1L&dir_id=758&group_id=8791&cat_id=14974&subcat_id=14975

I use Hugh Hartsell's hatch chart when I go and I look up the flies in my Orvis pocket guide so I can ID them on the river.

Knik
05-24-2010, 10:10 PM
Thanks for the links and info BRF, the pocket guides look to be just what I'm looking for. Have visited Hugh's site many times and have to say that he has a ton of info on there, great info Hugh! There just seems to be so many different patterns that it gets confusing for a newbie as myself, then there is the stages of the hatch...lol!!!

I have a new respect for you guys and all the detail.:smile:

Thanks again BRF

rbreedi1
05-24-2010, 11:52 PM
As far as insects, I have "Trout Stream Insects, An Orvis Streamside Guide."
http://www.amazon.com/Trout-Stream-Insects-Orvis-Streamside/dp/1558210679

Knik
05-25-2010, 11:04 PM
Thanks rbreed, I'll make sure to check it out.

BlueRaiderFan
05-26-2010, 12:54 AM
Thanks for the links and info BRF, the pocket guides look to be just what I'm looking for. Have visited Hugh's site many times and have to say that he has a ton of info on there, great info Hugh! There just seems to be so many different patterns that it gets confusing for a newbie as myself, then there is the stages of the hatch...lol!!!