PDA

View Full Version : New reel suggestion

Worrgamesguy
06-22-2010, 03:35 PM
I'm buying another outfit, and want a cheap, quality reel. On LRO, I'm looking at the Orvis Clearwater IV for $49 or the Ross Flystarts 3 or 4 for $60 and $65 respectively.

I've got an Orvis BBS III on my 5 WT, and enjoy it immensely, but I don't want to drop another $100+ on a reel. Should I buy another spool for it? At $59 for a new spool, I figure I might as well buy a completely new reel.

Keep in mind that I am a college student, and this is going to be a pricey purchase for me. I've got limited money, and I don't want to get a job until I leave for the Air Force after this summer.

Owl
06-22-2010, 03:57 PM
"and want a cheap, quality reel."

You should meet my wife, who wants something great, but always for cheap. :) LOL

As to the Orvis or Ross, find them somewhere and fiddle with them. For me, it's always been an easier choice if I can get my hands on a reel before buying.

As for going into the AF - thank you, and God Bless you! America needs young people who are willing to serve.

Worrgamesguy
06-22-2010, 05:15 PM
I need to make a day trip to go fish in the Smokies soon, I could always stop by LRO. Cumberland Transit doesn't have as big of a selection, so I don't know if they'd have these reels.

I know the saying "you get what you pay for" and believe in it, but I also know there are those exceptions that are worth their weight in gold. Paintball is another hobby of mine, and I know the $1000+ guns are wicked, but I also know of a few sub-$500 guns that perform just as well.

Thanks for your support, I hope I can make it through basic. I dislocated my knee 3 years ago and it's still giving me trouble.

tlshealy
06-22-2010, 06:42 PM
I bought an Orvis Clearwater and have been somewhat disappointed, I actually like my Cabela's Prestige Plus reel better for the same money.
Tad

Worrgamesguy
06-22-2010, 07:45 PM
Any reason for that? Elaborate please.

tlshealy
06-22-2010, 08:22 PM