PDA

View Full Version : the Elk

white95v6
07-19-2010, 02:44 PM
i wonder why the TWRA does not stock this river with more fish. granted i am no expert. but this river is Plenty cold and seems to have enough life(food) to support more fish being stocked. from the dam to Ferris creek we only seen maybe 60-70 fish if i had to guess and between two of us we caught about 15-17 fish all day. now we seen some realy nice fish one brown was close to 7lbs and lost a 3-4 lb brown.

rockytopwoolybugger
07-20-2010, 03:49 PM
I feel your pain. I fished the elk this past weekend for the first time since last summer. I was expecting a great day seeing as how one day last summer was one of the most productive fishing trips I have been to any tailwater in Tennessee. However, that was not the case at all. I only saw a few fish and threw everything I could think to throw but the fish were not having it. I spoke to at least a dozen people that day that said it was probably the worst day they have ever seen on the elk. I also spoke to a few guys that said they were there a week earlier and caught their limit in 45 minutes and couldn't keep fish off the hook. I was very disappointed with the fishing, and I hope it gets better because I really like the elk river.

white95v6
07-21-2010, 01:42 PM
yea it just seemed like the river was down on the fish population. not sure why the TWRA does not stock anymore then it does. i mean its a beautiful river with very cold water.

highpockets
07-21-2010, 06:02 PM
It has been that way for over a month now. WE go often (or did) but the last three thrips I caught 2 fish or 1 fish. That's fishing for 4 hours or more.
The only people that I have heard are catching a few are floating from the dam down to Ferris creek.

To be honest I have not seen or heard of them stocking in a long while. They mucked with it hard last year so I wouldn't put it past them not to stock for some reason.

rockytopwoolybugger
07-21-2010, 09:35 PM