PDA

View Full Version : Emory/Little Emory/Obed for smallmouth?

Stana Claus
07-24-2010, 12:41 PM
Before I head out prospecting on empty water, does anybody here have any experience they'd like to share regarding wadeable smallmouth fishing in the Morgan County area? I was thinking about maybe the Emory upstream of Oakdale and around Nemo bridge, or the Crooked Fork below Potters Falls. I know a lot of the creeks in that area are run by whitewater kayakers when the water levels are up, but how do they fish?

Bfish
07-24-2010, 05:41 PM
Emory upstream of Oakdale might be a little big still for wading.

At Nemo it should be about right.

Crooked Fork has suffered in the past from sewage discharge (at 27 crossing), not sure of habitat there either as it is pretty much bedrock.

Might want to consider Devils Breakfast Table on Daddy's and also Obed Junction area too.

waterwolf
07-24-2010, 10:10 PM
I have a lot of experience in that part of the world, both floating and wading. When it comes to wading, it is tough even on the Obed and Clear Creek, not to mention the emory. Everything will be wadeable then you will get to a 500 yard long 10 foot deep hole with house sized rocks. Getting out and walking through the woods is a risky bet, the rhododendron is dense, and the venomous snake population is off the charts. So caution is highly advised.