PDA

View Full Version : Suggestions for the new guy

benintenn
09-14-2010, 11:35 PM
Over the month or so, I've been practicing my cast like a champ on a pond near my house and have taken a trip to the Hiawassee to do the same. This weekend I'm headed to the area and will attempt my first go at fishing in the park. Before going to the game on Saturday, I am planning on spending a few hours on the water.

Since I'm pretty new at it and I'm not great at casting, my expectations are low in regards to actually catching anything because I realize that approach and presentation are everything. My goals are 1.) to get some practice at fishing smaller streams where I can't back cast like at the pond and 2.) just getting out/enjoying the woods for a while.

Should I just stick to somewhere close to the road (around the Wye, Metcalf, Tremont, etc.) or would it be better to take a short hike in somewhere? I'll be staying in Seymour, so TN side is where I'll be at.

I need the practice because my friends and I are taking our annual fall break backpacking trip to Cataloochee in October. Both campsites(40 and 41) are on the water and this will be my first trip with a fly rod in my pack.

TellicoFlyfisher
09-15-2010, 05:59 AM
If you are really interested in learning, I would advise spending a few hunded dollars and get an education from a professional guide. Nor a casting education but an on-stream education. You need to learn what to cast and where to cast it and a pro can teach you more about that in a few hours than you can learn on your own in years.

Just my 2 cents worth - I don't guide and I have no connection to any guide other than to hire one occasionally when fishing in a new area.

Jim Casada
09-15-2010, 08:14 AM