PDA

View Full Version : a little off topic

2weightfavorite
11-03-2010, 10:40 PM
just out of curiosity I was wondering if any of you have ever seen a grouse in the Foothills WMA area in blount county? I've been hunting it for a couple years now, and have yet to flush a bird.. Am I wasting my time? Should I go over towards Chilhowie or Citico? I am quite determined to find somewhere to grouse hunt in east tenn. I dont expect the grouse hunhting we had in PA, but a few flushes here or there would be sweet!

old east tn boy
11-03-2010, 10:53 PM
Buddy am I ever right there with you! Annie, my five month old black Lab puppy, and I spent the better part of the day last Wednesday tramping around Royal Blue in the North Cumberland WMA in search of the elusive grouse and came up empty. We did flush a drake Wood duck. I have talked to several folks who declare that said bird has become scarce hereabouts but I and Ms. Annie are out to prove them wrong. If we can find the birds that is. Truly, I need to find some place in east TN where I can have a reasonably good expectation of finding them so that my enthusiasm as well as my dog's can remain high. I am not a person who wishes to have a daily limit on every outing, heck for that matter, I would be happy to have one in the bag at the end of the day. If you can help this poor old man and puppy out we sure would be indebted to you.

buzzmcmanus
11-04-2010, 06:57 AM
just out of curiosity I was wondering if any of you have ever seen a grouse in the Foothills WMA area in blount county?

I predator hunt there every winter and will see one every couple of years. Seems like the only place I ever see them is just inside the powerline cuts.