PDA

View Full Version : Fly-Fishing Philosophy 101

Fishstu
11-04-2010, 12:59 PM
If we define "better" as "more satisfying" or "more enjoyable" which of the following is "better" in terms of GSMNP fly-fishing? (I recognize that there are in reality more options, but ...)

1) to hit the water with high expectations (great conditions) and have a 'bad' day of fishing (e.g., not many to hand and those are on the small side);

2) to hit the water with low expectations (poor conditions) and have a 'good' day of fishing (e.g., a number to hand and some are of decent size) because you 'rose to the challenge'; or

3) to hit the water with no expectations and have a 'great' day of fishing (e.g., not many to hand but they are good-sized) because you were 'lucky'?

May the fish be plentiful, hungry, none-too-smart, and non-fictional!
Fishstu

Stana Claus
11-04-2010, 01:53 PM
Can't speak for anyone else, and since I'm still new to this game my outlook may be different than other folks, but here's my take on it. When I go flyfishing in the Smokies I start with the baseline attitude of having a great day in the outdoors, enjoying the fresh air and general natural surroundings associated with a mountain trout stream. If I catch anything at all (other than a tree, a bush, or a shrub) that immediately escalates the quality of the outing to approaching greatness. So I guess you could say that puts me squarely in the #3 group, although my great day doesn't depend on the size (nor quantity) of the catch.

Rog 1
11-04-2010, 02:34 PM