PDA

View Full Version : reel questions

flyred06
03-27-2011, 09:17 PM
Well I finally done it. I broke down and bought my first Abel reel. It is a super 3n standard arbor. It came in saturday and I can say from all that I see, feel and tell about the reel it is very nice. I am thinking about upgrading all my reels to abels based on this reel, however, I have no experience with them. What are some of your opinions/experiences good and bad before I sink this much money into this project. PLEASE HELP. Currently I have orvis and ross reels. Just so you know what I am comparing to. Thanks

BIGBR
03-27-2011, 10:04 PM
I hope you enjoy your new reel. I have a 5N large arbor and like it. In my opinion it's not worth the money to upgrade all of your reels to Able. I dont care for the newer Orvis reels and have never owned a Ross. To me the able is a very nice reel but not even close to being worth the money. I have became a huge fan of the Bauer Rouge reels. They are low maintenance, lower cost, have a great drag system, lifetime warranty, great customer service, good looks, and are the smoothest reel on the market. I know opinions vary and I will probably get crucified for not worshiping the all mighty Able. But the fact is there are other quality reels on the market that are a much better value.

flyred06
03-28-2011, 08:06 AM
I to looked at the bauer reels. Honestly it was my first choice. I do not know why but all of a sudden the abels just drew me to them. But I do appreciate your imput and I just like you are not big fans of these newer orvis reels and deffinately want to upgrade. May take another look at the bauers. Thanks

Heavynets
03-28-2011, 08:20 AM
Something to keep in mind:

http://www.xtranormal.com/watch/7821831/

Trico
03-28-2011, 09:20 AM