PDA

View Full Version : fly tying station


flyman01
01-27-2013, 08:26 PM
I gave my last fly tying station to a friend and since I had some time today, I thought I would head into the shop and make a new one for myself. Here are the pictures of how it turned out.

http://i1278.photobucket.com/albums/y503/flyman01/IMG_1261_zps93e838d9.jpg



http://i1278.photobucket.com/albums/y503/flyman01/IMG_1260_zpse69a6e03.jpg

Stana Claus
01-27-2013, 09:10 PM
I like it! Nice job.

bmadd
01-27-2013, 10:04 PM
That looks really nice! Would like to see a picture after you get everything set up.

If you don't mind me asking, what is the white material used for the bottom?

Corbo
01-27-2013, 11:03 PM
Wicked awesome! You are very talented and I bet folks would buy those from you.... I have one similarly constructed. Been wanting to tie but I prefer to do it outside on the back porch and keep the mess outta the house... still a bit to cool.

flyman01
01-28-2013, 05:50 AM
That looks really nice! Would like to see a picture after you get everything set up.

If you don't mind me asking, what is the white material used for the bottom?

That material is 3mm EPVC (expanded polyvinyl chloride). On the previous one I made, I had some Formica laminate left over from a project, which worked very well and has lasted 8 years so far. Unfortunately, I did not have any laminate to use but had some of the EPVC in one of my scrap bins so I cut the bottom inlay out of that material.

Thanks all for the compliments, looking forward to taking this down to the cabin and start tying some bugs.

flyred06
01-28-2013, 01:01 PM
Very nice. Want to see it stocked up

g022271
01-28-2013, 05:34 PM
That is one nice looking station!!! What are its dimensions (L & W)? I've got to make one of those!!

Mike

flyman01
01-28-2013, 08:22 PM
Mike:

The dim's are 14.5" deep x 26" long, with the back being 2" tall. I drew this in AutoCAD but can save a copy in a PDF format if you want a drawing of the components. Just shoot me your e-mail, I will gladly sent you a copy of the drawing.

Doug

BlueRaiderFan
01-29-2013, 12:08 AM
Dang!......

g022271
01-29-2013, 12:09 AM
Hey Doug, Thanks! My email is memcconk@gmail.com

Mike

MadisonBoats
01-29-2013, 09:03 AM
Mike:

The dim's are 14.5" deep x 26" long, with the back being 2" tall. I drew this in AutoCAD but can save a copy in a PDF format if you want a drawing of the components. Just shoot me your e-mail, I will gladly sent you a copy of the drawing.

Doug

You are a good man flyman01! Great job on your workstation and thanks for sharing the details with others!

No Hackle
01-29-2013, 01:30 PM
Sweet!!!!!

flyman01
01-29-2013, 02:38 PM
Thanks Madison, much appreciated!

Mike, just sent you the drawings and all the info to make one should be on there.......hopefully clearer than mud! One thing I omitted from the drawing was the white inlay. I have a CNC router which makes that easy to put into the base, doing that with a hand router would be difficult. I would advise just getting a piece of white poster board cut it to the appropriate size and securing it with some double sided carpet tape. I say that because the white inlay while adding to the unit aesthetically, it also helps to reflect light back up and it does make a difference when you are tying small bugs. Use a shout out if you need any assistance, I will be glad to help.

Doug

flyman01
02-11-2013, 12:04 PM
Very nice. Want to see it stocked up

Got the station stocked up and in use! Added a light stand to the table as well, the silver pipe seen in the upper right hand corner, this helped immensely!
http://i1278.photobucket.com/albums/y503/flyman01/tyingstation_zpsb75e1d59.jpg

flyred06
02-11-2013, 08:14 PM
Flyman

Very nice. I like the way you displayed the fly boxes. That should bring you hours of entertainment

77punk
05-16-2013, 06:59 AM
i run a cnc mill, and have often thought about trying to design something similar for myself. however i don't think my boss would appreciate a bunch of wood shavings in the scrap aluminum. out of curiosity, does a cnc router operate on a system such as anilam? M codes and G codes?

flyman01
05-16-2013, 09:25 AM
i run a cnc mill, and have often thought about trying to design something similar for myself. however i don't think my boss would appreciate a bunch of wood shavings in the scrap aluminum. out of curiosity, does a cnc router operate on a system such as anilam? M codes and G codes?

Mine operates off a toolpath program called Omega which was designed by the maker of the equipment. It can also be programmed using G code which is the most common language that I have been around while using CNC routers.