PDA

View Full Version : Yet another Alabama Flyfisher

J.Hightower
01-15-2006, 09:08 PM
http://i8.photobucket.com/albums/a11/hytyer/IMG_0719.jpg
This is my first time to this board...looks good....I have visited your shop several times over the past two years....and just wanted to tell you it has been the best shop I have been in....the products you sell and the people selling it are top notch....see yall this spring ... thanks j.Hightower

bamafly
01-16-2006, 02:23 AM
hey J

where do you live?

I am in Athens.

J.Hightower
01-16-2006, 03:57 PM
I live about 40... 45 miles north of B'ham.....Gardencity area

bamafisherlady
01-16-2006, 08:55 PM
That picture looks like a trout that might have been caught from below Smith Dam. Those rocks are familiar. Am I correct?

J.Hightower
01-17-2006, 07:32 AM
Yes bamafisherlady I caught this fish in the Sipsey...over the Christmas Holidays..I get to slip off there about a dozen times a year...mostly during the cold months

Hawgdaddy
01-17-2006, 09:23 AM
I love having that place (Sipsey Fork) so close to home. I actually fly fished for trout for a couple of years before being extremely surprised to learn that we had a trout tailwater here in Alabama. Good to see so many folks from Alabama here on the board,

hawgdaddy

canyon65
01-18-2006, 01:59 PM
I would have never guessed that was a Sipsey fish - unbelievable color on it. I haven't fished up there in two years, but I caught my first trout there! Seems like back then the fish had very little color - maybe the hatchery is shipping some different bloodlines now. My problem with the Sipsey is the drive-time. I live in Gadsden, and I can be on the Hiwassee in 2 1/2 hours if I hit the traffic in Chattanooga right. With an almost two-hour drive to the Sipsey, I find myself looking North when I want to do a kamikaze day-trip. I still wish I could make myself fish the Sip more!

jr
01-18-2006, 04:50 PM
Hiya to all

Yet another Ala Fly, I live in Gadsden ;D