PDA

View Full Version : New Fly Fisher

crossroads
03-06-2006, 01:54 PM
I am new to fly fishing, I've fished the rivers many time conventionally,but, have never fly fished. I am working on setting myself up for a trip down in april. I purchased an Orvis TLS Power Matrix 7' 11" 4wt Mid Flex Rod & an Orvis Battenkill Disc 5-6 Reel ( was a gift). I have waders,boots & vest, but have none of the other items needed. I was hoping someone familiar with the rivers in the Smoky's can advise me on the rest. The Flies I can pick up at Little River Outfitters when I come down, But would like to equip myself with all the rest prior to arriving. All the advice I can get will be helpful. I would like advice on the types of lines I will need for the area and equipment I've already obtained. This will give me time to practice & hopefully perfect my casting technique. *Thank You for Any Help You can Give :-[

sworp
03-08-2006, 05:50 AM
Hi,
I imagine you will get all kinds of good advise, but the best thing gear-wise I've added to my stuff has to be a water filter bottle. It sure beats the extra weight of packing your own H2O. Also if you don't already have one- a wading staff is a good investment. Just remember to keep the weight of the gear you use to a minimum and save your energy.
If I think of anything else, I'll get back to you.

crossroads
03-08-2006, 10:16 AM
Hello Sworp,
*Glad to meet you, I appreciate the advice,I've got a lot to learn, in a short period of time!! Didn't even occur to me to bring a water bottle. I suppose I need to consider how completely different it is from just driving over to my local river & throwing in a line for a couple hours!!
*Time to put myself into a different mindset!! *Any other tips will undoubtably make my trip a little more enjoyable
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *Thank You,
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *Brian Flynn