PDA

View Full Version : Hello from Arkansas

arkansastraveler
10-06-2006, 12:20 PM
I great big hello to all of you on the board.

I am from just southwest of Little Rock, Arkansas. I have flyfished (of sorts) since I was about 8 for smallmouth, and have the privilege of living about 400 yeards from that fabled stream of my youth. I am self taught, and the more I fish the more I consider myself a novice. Mainly lack of time on the water I think. We should all be able to quit work at noon for a bit of fishing. I also live a little over an hour from some great tailwater fishing.

My dad lived in Pittsburgh for about 12 years, and currently lives on the North Carolina coast. I also have cousins from Ashville. This has meant that since my married life, my wife and I have been comiong through the Smoky Mtn area for about the last 14 years at least once a year. Twice when my beloved Razorbacks meet the Vols.

My wife is quite the beach girl, and I am quite the opposite. I think our visits to the area have converted her though :) . We would also rather do some hiking, fishing, camping, or just prop our feet up on a rock and watch life go by. Therefore, it didn't take long to find a place to stay in Townsend. That naturally led to LRO. A fantastic and first rate shop!!

I wish I could say I fish every time we come through, but I can't :'( . But one trip into the mountains, and I was hooked. I have met with limited success, but it gets better each time. Monday I caught four, and with my help, my 5 year old daughter, and 3 year old son were both able to catch their first fish. That makes six woooohooo!! Now I have to see about cutting down an old rod so she can have one more her size.

We have been talking for years about getting a place in the area, and finally my dad and I got a wild hair and did it. I am looking forward to being back up there more, and getting to know all of you guys better. Hopefully, I can glean some information to make my fishing more successfull.