PDA

View Full Version : Furled Leaders

Griff
10-30-2006, 12:54 PM
With all the recent talk about leaders lately I started researching furled leaders. Who likes them, who hates them, who makes there own? I think I am going to try and make up a couple and see if I like them.

Rog 1
10-30-2006, 01:19 PM
Good topic....I picked up my first ones last month and gave them a try on my annual fall trip in the Park. Previously I had been using a knotless tapered leader for the last several years. What I liked most about the leaders was the ability to replace or change tippet material with little effort. The leaders I was using were 5 1/2 feet long for 2-4 wt lines....Traditionally I fish the smaller water and don't use a leader over 7'.... so with these I was having to use a leader a little longer than I was used to.....I did like the way they turned over and found after the first day that I was adapting to the look and delivery....they do require some dressing and the results on how long they floated varied from day to day....all in all I liked using them and plan on using them again the next time I get to hit the water.....while they cost a little more initially I think thank by the end of a fishing season the cost will equal out from not having to keep replacing the other leaders....for a week of fishing this year I used one furled leader and only part of a spool of tippet vs. 2 to 3 std. leaders....

snaildarter
10-30-2006, 02:47 PM