PDA

View Full Version : This Weekend

rainshaker
10-31-2006, 03:23 PM
Heading up to the park on early Friday...Can somebody tell me what they're eating?

read the fishing report, #8 nymphs Is this correct?

Nymph patterns vary right now. Sometimes they'll hit big ones #8 or they only want small #18. Patterns to try would be Tellico, Prince, Copper John or Pheasant Tail.

I read another source that called for size 6 nymph patterns for the Smokies, I'm no expert but that just seems too big. I know, 'Big fish eat big flies' but in this case we're talking about REALLY BIG BUGS!

:o SCARY! *:o

I've had the most succes fishing size 16 drys, can someone explain this giant nymph phenomenon to me?

Thanks in advance,

DryFly1
10-31-2006, 03:39 PM
Hey Rainshaker,

I assume that you also read the"suggested flies" tab.

I have never been fishing in the smokies where one of these didn't work..

* Can't help you on the "big bugs" I don't carry a telephone pole, and prefer top water action, and smaller nymph patterns. Good luck this weekend, should be great fishing....

rainshaker
10-31-2006, 03:46 PM
Thanks for the tips...

I tied a size 4 streamer once; but that was for a groom's wedding cake.

:)

scflyfisher
10-31-2006, 03:55 PM
Rainshaker,