PDA

View Full Version : 3wt ?

Deedub
02-07-2007, 05:05 PM
I'm looking into purchasing my second (3rd but the 20 dollar wally world special doesn't count) rod and reel and I wanted to get something a little smaller.
I would like something better suited for the tight confines of the Smokies.
Would a 3wt (I'm still new to this so forgive me) road and reel set up be good for there?
Plus I hear its a lot of fun on the more light-weight setups when you land a fish.

Any way, any help would be nice.

Oh and I'm on a budget, but aren't we all when we're married.

Thanks

dw

kytroutman
02-07-2007, 06:01 PM
I personally would not recommend anything smaller than a 4wt. I use a 5wt simply because its easier for me to cast and handle everything from the brookies to the browns and allows me to cast dries as easy as streamers. It's all up to the individual.

DryFly1
02-07-2007, 06:13 PM
Deedub,

These are the kinds of questions that we all love to talk about but hard to answer. *You are likely to get various responses, and more than likely, none are incorrect. *I personally like a 3wt for the smaller streams of the mountains and do indeed like the feel and fight of a lighter rod(I like to throw alot of dry's). *For some reason ,and with budget in mind, I always point people toward a TFO. *Try out some 3wt,4wt and see which is more appealing to your style. *Maybe even borrow one and go try it out! *3 or 4 piece would be really sweet! *Let us know.

You can't go wrong with a 4 or 5 wt either,especially if you want to use bigger bugs and get deep for bigger fish.

Mark...

Jswitow
02-07-2007, 06:18 PM