PDA

View Full Version : Okie on the loose!!!

Midgeman
02-27-2007, 10:50 AM
My in-laws have been kind enough to arrange for a huge family vacation for our family. This June we will all be headin' down to Pigeon Forge for a week. I have been flyfishing for several years now and tye my own flies for this area (South Eastern Oklahoma and Western Arkansas). I am really looking forward to throwing a few flies when we get there. Any suggestions on flies? I would like to get a head start on tying. Your suggestions are appreciated.

russ
02-27-2007, 10:57 AM
Pheasant tail nymphs, tellico nymphs, prince nymphs, hares ear nymphs all in sizes 10, 12 & 14.

Dry flies;
Adams, thunderhead, yellow salleys, yellow humpy, grey caddis, tan caddis, yellow caddis, yellow stimulators all in sizes 12 & 14.

Gerry Romer
02-27-2007, 11:09 AM
Take a look through the fly selection in the online catalogue at this website. Byron and Daniel have done a fantastic job of presenting their wares with just enough of a slant on the East Tennessee factor.

Gerry

Rog 1
02-27-2007, 12:18 PM
Take a look in this category a couple of posts below your..."Down sizing and 7 Patterns"....this is a pretty good reference to what a lot of people consider their go to patterns....there is some overlapping but you will be able to work out a consensus....one thing to will always hear...."can't go wrong with yellow"

Midgeman
02-27-2007, 01:32 PM
Thanks all. Looks like I will have more than a few flies to work on over the next couple of months!!!! In these parts I use zebra midges alot and they work great. Also use some copper johns and prince nymphs. So this trip will be an excellent excuse to broaden my tying horizons. Thanks again.

Troutman
02-27-2007, 01:48 PM
Welcome to the board Midgeman. Do you live near to where Dave Whitlock has moved to? His site says they have fantastic Smallie fishing in that area.