PDA

View Full Version : Need some advice

Wannafish
04-09-2007, 01:43 PM
Our family is planning a trip to the GSM this coming weekend, the 12th through the 14th. I would like to try a little fishing in the GSM National Park. Since I've never done it before, is fly fishing the only way to do it? If so, any recommendations on the quickest way to get started? I know I'll need to pick up a license in advance. We probably won't fish more than a half day, depends on the luck.

David Knapp
04-09-2007, 03:02 PM
If money is not an issue, I would HIGHLY recommend checking to see if LRO has any guides available during that time frame. It may be hard to find a guide this close to your trip but if any are available, it would make it much more enjoyable and productive.

rlockwood
04-09-2007, 03:05 PM
Wannafish:

Other people with more knowledge will reply. But, I think that you can spin fish as long as you have a single hook on your lure. This is a pain, because most artificial lures have treble hooks that you will need to replace. No bait fishing allowed.

Or your can try a combination of fly fishing and spin fishing. A few weeks back, my 6 year old caught his first trout using a Scooby Doo Zebco that I had tied a wooly bugger and split shot onto the end of. I've head of other people fishing nymphs below an indicator this way.

If you are going to fly fish for the first time, I highly recommend getting a guide. They will make the process a lot easier for you. Little River Outfitters has several reputable guides. I also had a great experience with Hugh Hartsell who posts here regularly.

Good luck.

Robert

Wannafish
04-09-2007, 03:11 PM