PDA

View Full Version : Catching slump...

fishlicker
04-25-2007, 07:04 PM
Well, it seems that I'm in a bit of a "catching slump" this spring. I fished for several hours on Bradley Fork and some really nice pools on Chasteen this weekend, and got one 4 inch brown to show for the effort. I'm sure someone out there has some advice( and some of it probably serious! :) ) about how to get out of this slump I'm in. I've never been so skunked, beaten, down or depressed - or so fishless - since I started fishing the park nearly 8 years ago.
Any and all advice welcome. Maybe I need a new rod? ;) LOL I'm no rookie at this game, either - I'm no expert EITHER - but I usually catch my share. It just seems that this year, my share has been about a fish a trip, and a teeny weeny one at that. Plus, it didn't help that an " Orvis Catalog" walked up as I was taking off my boots, - all dejected and disappointed - and the store...errr..fellow... caught a nice 9 inch brown right in front of me! THE INJUSTICE! :biggrin:

thanks
'licker

DryFly1
04-25-2007, 07:36 PM
I think we have all had the "skunk" visit us from time to time. This does sound a bit ultra-skunky! We could talk forever about your choice of flies,sneakability,presentation etc... If it were me I would get with someone on the board who lives close or get a guide for the day and get a good critique. Best I can offer for now. Let us know how it goes and good luck!!

Hope you "lick" some fish soon!!

* More than likely you just need a good "CONFIDENCE BUILDER" day to get you back on track...

Mark....

Kevin_Thomas
04-25-2007, 07:42 PM
The fishing has been a bit tuff for us average guys... I've been on a half dozen streak the last three trips. I usually do a bit better, but I don't think the fish are turned on all the way just yet. Next week should be the ticket!

Backwards Evolution
04-25-2007, 08:27 PM