PDA

View Full Version : Hello, all...

Fool4Smallies
08-30-2007, 01:32 PM
Hello to everyone on the board. My name is Steve Carpenter, and I am a lifelong resident of Blount County (in which Townsend is located). My parents had me backpacking in the backcountry of the Smokies when I was five years old...so long ago that actual backpacking equipment was nearly impossible to obtain from retail outlets (it was 1960!). Even though I have spent a fairly healthy percentage of my life in the Smokies, I was never a cold water fisherman. Family background and interests, you know.
Besides being reared in the backcountry of the Smokies (so to speak), I was also reared on warm water fishing in the TVA reservoirs of the valley. Eventually, I parlayed that background into a part-time guiding business on both Fort Loudoun and Tellico reservoirs, primarily for largemouth and smallmouth bass, as well as some crappie. I no longer guide, but I do spend a great deal of time on Fort Loudoun chasing the smallmouth. Most people are surprised to learn that the lower one-third of that reservoir holds not only a very sizable population of smallmouth, but also that lots of trophy sized smallies can be found there as well.
About 8 years ago, I began trying to add trout and cold water fishing to my skills repertoire, but I still consider myself a neophyte. I have tried a few backcountry streams (most notably Anthony Creek), but spend most of my time on either Middle Prong or around the Metcalf Bottoms area of Little River.
In addition to fishing whenever and wherever I can for whatever might be available, I also enjoy upland game hunting (mostly small game, and preferably quail, dove, and grouse), amateur astronomy, and ham radio (yes, people still do that...lol!) My callsign is K4DXV and I usually monitor the Gatlinburg 2-meter repeater on 146.850 MHz, toned at 127.3. If you're a ham visiting the area, give a shout.