PDA

View Full Version : Just the Basics:Flie selection for Smokies

highpockets
01-10-2008, 01:25 PM
Ok, i'm new to the game but a pretty good fly tyer/tier TIE ER. Man that doesn't look right.

Anyway, I know this has probably been beaten to death but I can't find a thread on it so could someone just give me the short list of flies that I should try to have in my box come spring!

Right now i'm concentrating on:

Adams
Cahills
Elk Hair Caddis
Some nymphs

What I need to know are what size and colors I should concentrate on and any that I might have missed! I fish the Elk down here in South Tenn but I know the bugs can be different up smokies way. Any help is already appreciated!!

God Bless
pockets

Jack M.
01-10-2008, 02:43 PM
You are definitely missing the Yellow and/or Orange Stimulators in size 16 and 14. Great on their own and great to suspend nymphs from.

scflyfisher
01-10-2008, 02:47 PM
Pockets,

Your list is a good starting point. I'm sure there will be some folks reply here with a lot more knowledge and experience than me. I'm guessing there will be some mention of Quill Gordons and Blue Quills if your talking early spring. I don't really have any experience in the park in early spring, but it seems like I can always catch a few fish with the following list:

Dries:

Parachute Adams sz. 12-18
Stimulators: sz. 12-16

Nymphs:

Tellicos, Prince and Pheasant Tails sz. 12-18

This is a very small list, but I like to try and carry one small fly box with not tons of choices. The more simple I keep it the better I usually do. I do always make sure I have a few big nymphs like a Helgramite in size 4-6 to toss in the deeper holes.

Now lets see what the folks that know a lot more than me have to say.

Matt

David Knapp
01-10-2008, 02:51 PM
I catch a majority of my fish in the park on the following nymphs/wet flies...

Tellico nymphs #10-#14
BHPT #12-#22
GRHE #12-#20 (really like these in the smaller sizes)
Prince nymph #10-#14
Copper Johns #12-#18 (mainly #14)