PDA

View Full Version : New Member

kayakfish
01-12-2008, 08:50 PM
Boy Oh Boy I really like this forum, you guys have got everything going on here. I'm new to the fly fishing thing, but have been tying for about 6 months for my husband. we are planning a trip in mid April to Gatlinburg with some friends and would love to meet up with some of you to show us the ropes. My husband is a Disabled Veteren of the U.S. Marine Corp, a fake knee will keep him from traveling in unstable waters but we are up for the fishing if you all have any suggestions. Thanks

Paula Begley
01-12-2008, 10:39 PM
Welcome, kayakfish! You certainly picked a great forum to get info...it's loaded with excellent fishermen who readily share.

Thanks to your hub for his service...and we will find you places he can fish with an unstable knee.

Paula

stephen thrift
01-13-2008, 01:19 PM
Hi Kayakfish,
In Gatlinburg, have your husband cross the bridge in front of Christus Gardens. There is a stone wall on the right side. He can cast toward the bridge and let the river carry it in close toward the tree line. Good fish but usually picky. Also try the water in front of the Haunted Mansion on River Rd. and in front of the Aquarium. There is also some easy access along the Sugarland trail at the park end of town.
Good luck and Sigma phi.
Steve
P.S. Don't forget you need a Gatlinburg permit in addition to your license.

Flyfishjeep
01-13-2008, 03:36 PM
Welcome Kayakfish, When you stop into LRO on your trip they will give you a map that shows some places for your family to fish. They are great people to talk with and someone will always be able to answer your questions.

kayakfish
01-13-2008, 03:56 PM
Thanks to all you, adn do you mean the creek running infront of the big aquarium, we loved that place the last time we were there but didnt know we could fish there? Wow you guys are so helpfull, we trully appreciate all your help and any and all places are deeply appreciated.