PDA

View Full Version : Bald River

KnoxBioBenz
02-27-2008, 01:54 AM
Hey Guys, Newbie here. I have only been FF for about a year and I am planning on fishing the Bald River this weekend. I might camp out overnight (weather permitting).

My question is this; what flies do you think I should bring along; specifically-
dry flies??
nymps??
streamers??

I have fished the Bald River once before and I was completely awestruck by its beauty. I can't imagine what it will look like compared to the meager flow of last June.

Zack

Grumpy
02-27-2008, 09:04 AM
Dries i like Para Adams or lil Stimulators in yellow or orange, a TN Wulff works pretty good to.
Nymphs, hares ear, PT's or Princes in the 8-10 range with heavy shot
Streamers, dark colored buggers or even some stoneflies.
They have worked for me, then there's been times, especially this time of year that i just fished, they didn't bite:eek: still worth the trip though:biggrin:

Grumpy

oody3wt
02-27-2008, 12:43 PM
If you dont mind a little bit of a hike there's a pretty awsome meadow with some undercut bank and deepish water. An approach from upstream staying out of the water for the most part would be a good place to work a streamer. A heavy nymph with 16-18 dropper would be a good bet maybe even a small egg dropper. best of luck and take care, that creek can get a little sketchy.

KnoxBioBenz
02-28-2008, 12:17 AM
I think I am going to have to back out of the overnight trip but I think I will be able to fish on Saturday afternoon. I only have a few para adams, prince nymphs, what types of streamers should I fish in the meadeow? Also, how far up the trail from the falls is the meadow?

oody3wt
02-28-2008, 12:13 PM