PDA

View Full Version : Leaders and tippet

A_Wallace
03-04-2008, 12:42 AM
I was wondering if anyone could give me some input on leader and tippet lengths when fishing smaller streams. Most the time when I fish the Clinch and South Holston i start with a 12 foot leader and maybe 12 to 18 inches of tippet. I think that maybe a bit much for smaller streams, but I am still learning and always willing to try it a different way.

Thanks

Andy

limbsnagger
03-04-2008, 01:10 AM
Different schools of thought on this one. I use 9 ft 6x fluro tapered leaders on freestone mountain streams. I'm usually fishing a droper rig so my dry fly goes right at the end of my leader and my dropper fly is anywhere from 12-24 inches off the bend. I know a guide who uses nothing but 4X 7.5 ft mono leaders in the smokies reasoning that he can save more flies from the trees, logs and rock snags and he doesn't seem to have any trouble catching fish. I probably give a few more flies up then he does but I still go for best presentation possible, even if my cast are going to be short. Plus if your like me some days it doesn't take long for my 9ft leader to become 7.5-8ft. My board name isn't limbsnagger for no reason!:biggrin:

monktrout
03-04-2008, 08:20 AM
Awallace, I think limbsnagger gave you some good advice. Lots of ideas about leader length out there. I have been late in the game in using floro. No doubt it can save the day, however good fly fishers have caught fish for centuries with all matter of crude leaders. Also try lengthening your tippet to make it more supple. On tight streams try a 6ft leader and add 24" of 5x on wary fish. On the Clinch try 8ft leader and add 24" of 6x tippet(floro if you've got it). Possibly most important is a leader you feel confident with. A 18ft 7x leader might catch me more fish but I can't handle it. Monk

Grumpy
03-04-2008, 08:47 AM