Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Best Fly Fishing Magazine

Default Best Fly Fishing Magazine

I'm just getting into fly fishing and would like to know what you all think is the best fly fishing magazine to help me learn about the sport? A very educational/informative one would be great. I just don't know where to start. I have Jim's book, Fly Fishing in the GSMNP, and a few of Ian and Charity's books, but thought a monthly magazine would be a good asset.

Thanks,

Birdman
    John 3:16

Default Best Magazine

Birdman,
    I get a couple of magazines. American Angler and Eastern Fly Fishing. The first one has some how to stuff in it and the second is mostly about destinations. I don't know that either of them will teach you more than spending some time on the water

Understood. Nothing beats on the water experience. However, I do enjoy a good educational read as well. Thanks LexFly.

I like thisisfly.com

It's online, free and has some entertaining stories and amazing pictures.

Did you move away from Rogvegas Birdman? I wish I had a magazine to recommend to help you out but I don't. I think there is one called sleepinginthedirt and it may be an online magazine but only looked at it a time or two.

Default Magazine

Flyfisherman Magazine has articles about fishing in many places- fresh and salt, how to, tying, conservation, issues, etc. It states it is the largest circulation of any fly fishing magazine. I have been getting it for about 5 years now. I'll be renewing it later this year.
    www.flyfisherman.com

Quote Originally Posted by Birdman View Post
    I'm just getting into fly fishing and would like to know what you all think is the best fly fishing magazine to help me learn about the sport? A very educational/informative one would be great. I just don't know where to start. I have Jim's book, Fly Fishing in the GSMNP, and a few of Ian and Charity's books, but thought a monthly magazine would be a good asset.

Thanks,

Birdman