Home Register Today's Posts Members User CP Calendar FAQ

Go Back   Little River Outfitters Forum > Fly Fishing Board > Tennessee Trout Streams and Tailwaters

Old 05-24-2013, 12:43 PM

Default Buffalo Fish or Carp on The Clinch??

Since I am new to the Clinch there are a lot of things I do not know. I spoke to a guy earlier in the week and he mentioned something about "buffalo carp" which after some research I realize the buffalo fish is commonly mistaken for carp and vice-versa.

This is why I am asking.
Last night I fished from about 6:30 till dark. My 5th or 6th cast I hooked into something that had to be pretty heavy.

I was fishing a dry with a midge dropper and as soon as it hit the dry it took off going away from me and snapped my line right at the leader/tippet and shot the line right back in my face. Never really saw anything but the initial take and then the line in my face.

A few hours later I hooked into another larger fish on a 22 zebra. I knew right away it was a heavy fish and I was able to see it after about 30 seconds and my initial thought was a big brown. After about a minute of fighting with it, it must have seen me and shot back away from me and tossed the fly. I had it within 10 yards and saw its belly which was at least 2-3 inches wide and from what I could tell it was a brownish grey color.

About 15 minutes later something made a huge splash just a few feet from me and before I could get turned around there were two or three more that swam right passed me creating all kinds of noise and splashing. (Scared the crap out of me!) It was right at dark and I never got a good look at what it was. Just know there were three or four of them. What could it be? Small mouth? Buffalo? Carp?

Now I'll shut up and listen. (or read)
Old 05-24-2013, 01:15 PM

You might have been in the middle of a buffalo love fest, do not wear cologne next time!

"Nothing straightens out my mind like a twisting mountain stream!"
Old 05-24-2013, 04:22 PM