Home Register Today's Posts Members User CP Calendar FAQ

Go Back   Little River Outfitters Forum > Fly Fishing Board > Smoky Mountain Fishing

Old 08-21-2013, 02:44 PM

Default First Trip

Well it seems as if I'm following a trend here lately. I'll be making a trip to the park in October. I'll be arriving in Gatlinburg on the 16th and have the 17th and 18th to fish. This trip will be a first for me trout fishing as well as first time fishing in the park. I'm a horrible caster that's self taught and have spent most of my time fishing still water (ponds/lakes). However, this will be the first of an annual trip from here on out and I was hoping I could get some pointers on some locations that are well suited for beginners. I know I'll be fighting the tourists but any and all help will be appreciated. And as any trip to that area, I'll be making a stop at LRO.
Old 08-22-2013, 10:39 AM

bmadd,

If staying on the TN side and just getting started with learning the smokies I would recommend researching two areas. Elkmont & Tremont water sheds.

Both these locations allow you to get off the main roads but very close and easy to locate from the Gatlinburg area. Both hold great fishing opportunities, allow for plenty of room to cast your fly and there is enough water that you can fish all week and move upstream and away from other fisherman until your heart is content.

easy to locate, lots of water to fish, plenty of room, and plenty of fish.
Old 08-22-2013, 10:49 AM

Thanks for the response Mac. Those sound like the kind of places I need to get my feet wet.