Home Register Today's Posts Members User CP Calendar FAQ

Go Back   Little River Outfitters Forum > Fly Fishing Board > Tackle and Gear

Old 04-20-2006, 06:55 PM

Default Wading Boots

I am looking for suggestions on good wading boots and caring for wading boots. *I've been using the Patagonia boots for a couple of years now. *The first pair wore out within about 1 year and they replaced them for me. *Now the second pair is falling apart even worse than the first pair less than a year after I got them. *I guess I'm just too hard on my boots. *First question, how long should I expect a good pair of boots to last me? *To put this in perspective, I fish probably 60-70 days a year and a lot of these days includes hiking at least some in my wading boots. *Should I try to refrain from hiking while wearing my boots? *

Secondly, has anyone ever used a shoe repair shop to fix wading boots? *I'm thinking about trying to get mine restitched and new felt soles put on. *Is this worth the money or should I just get a new pair.
Finally, any recommendations on wading boots would be appreciated as I might end up needing to buy a new pair. I'm a college student so price is a factor...

Thanks for any help and advice!

David Knapp
"Then He said to them, 'Follow Me, and I will make you fishers of men.'" Matthew 4:19

http://thetroutzone.blogspot.com
http://www.troutzoneanglers.com
Old 04-21-2006, 12:17 PM

Default Re: Wading Boots

I have a cheap pair of "Bone-dry"wading boots that have worn very well for about three years and will probably continue to for a few more.
The wife and son have Orvis and one pair started to drop some of thee stitching after one use.
I dont think price or lables make much difference, it all seems to be a matter of luck when it comes to wear or comfort.

My local shoe repair shop has proven to be very handy and inexpensive .
But Cobblers are a dying breed so if you have one locally give him a visit as he most likely can do what you want .