Home QLinks New Posts Members User CP Calendar FAQ

Go Back   Little River Outfitters Forum > Fly Fishing Board > Smoky Mountain Fishing

Old 04-09-2008, 12:34 PM

Default Back from 4 days on Hazel

I wish that I was a writer or a poet to try to represent the four days we had on Hazel Creek. We arrived at Fontana Lodge the night of Thursday April third. I was told that the lodge had been renovated in 2006 and its sure was as nice stay. It has been several years since my brother and myself have been to Hazel and so much had changed. The Marina was under new owners and they have really made this a nice place as well. When we called the guys at the Marina they recommended not showing up until Friday April fourth until 9:00am because of the fog and also to give them some time to open the shop and have there coffee. This gave me and my brother plenty of time to look around the lodge and go the to the restaurant and have our last really good breakfast. At the Marina there was a TVA/Forestry station that had the back country permit there and made it easy to register. We paid our fees for the boat and signed our dates to be picked up and we were off across the lake in no time at all. It took us about a 20 min. boat ride and were let off at about 9:30am. The first part of the trail was pretty level up to camp site 83. The biggest issue we had with this part of the trail was all the gavels and rocks on the road made it hard to walk. From 83 to Camp site 82 the road was dirt and covered with leaves. Let me make one point very clear here, the surface was the only easy part from 83 to 82. Being an old guy and trying to keep up with my 5 year younger bother about killed me. This part of the trail seemed like a long distance from camp site 83 to 82 and mostly UP hill, well that what it seemed to me anyway. We made it to campsite 82 and had our tent set up by 3:00PM. Yes I had plenty of stops along the way and some of you younger guys will be able to make it in less time but keep i