Home Register Today's Posts Members User CP Calendar FAQ

Go Back   Little River Outfitters Forum > Fly Fishing Board > Smoky Mountain Fishing

Old 05-21-2008, 12:01 AM

Default Skunked

It's time to fess up. I fished the park about 4 days between May 12-17, saw some fish, got a few nibbles and got real wet a few times in the rain, but caught nary a trout.
I fished Greenbriar and Tremont up and down around the Institute with no luck. Out at Greenbriar I pulled into a parking area not far up from the hq that looked like a perfect spot with real easy access. It was a wide run with plenty of casting room, but just wasn't my lucky spot.
Tried everything yellow I had in my box and experimented with some nymphs too.
The flow was pretty fast, I thought, and I struggled with my drifts. Maybe that was it.
Admittedly, I am a beginner and didn't get frustrated as it was only my second full-fledged fly fishing excursion.
What I got was determined to come back and fish some more.
I will return!
Old 05-21-2008, 08:32 AM

I am very sorry to hear that your trip here was unsuccessful in the fishing aspect of it. The fishing has been excellent here lately and its hard to guess what went wrong. Everybody has been skunked here and there. Luckily I havent been skunked in a while.....oops, i think i just jinxed myself . Its good that you did not get frustrated over the experience though. Just keep at it and dont set the bar too high. The fishing has been so good lately i think im starting to get spoiled. If im not bringing at least 10-15 fish to hand in about 3-4 hours of fishing, i go back to my car and throw a fit

Last edited by TroutAssassin; 05-21-2008 at 11:30 AM..
Old 05-21-2008, 09:35 AM