Home Register Today's Posts Members User CP Calendar FAQ

Go Back   Little River Outfitters Forum > Fly Fishing Board > Smoky Mountain Fishing

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-07-2008, 11:06 PM
Fly_Man_Bill Fly_Man_Bill is offline
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Cosby Tennessee
Posts: 124
Default One day permit

Can a resident of Tennessee fish in the park with a one day permit or does a person need a licenese?

Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2008, 11:22 PM
danp413 danp413 is offline
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Seymour, TN
Posts: 56

According to the following website you need a valid license, it does not give a restriction on how long the license is valid. Check with the folks at a local fly fishing shop to make sure...hmmm....maybe LRO. The folks there would know for sure. I know they sell a lot of licenses.

Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2008, 12:08 AM
ajh10567's Avatar
ajh10567 ajh10567 is offline
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Knoxville
Posts: 139

A couple years ago I bought a one day permit for the mountains, I was stopped by a twra person and the one day permit worked fine. That might not work now but it worked then.
Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2008, 02:08 AM
Fishermansfly's Avatar
Fishermansfly Fishermansfly is offline
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Alcoa, TN
Posts: 506
Default Re

No park permit or no trout stamp to fish in the park! Just TN One Day fishing license will do the trick! Stop in at LRO on your way in and grab one they sell um there! This applies to NC residents as well, even on the TN side of the park (vise versa applies to TN residents fishing the NC side).

Here's the link http://www.nps.gov/grsm/planyourvisit/fishing.htm

Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2008, 07:24 PM
MBWCC MBWCC is offline
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 37

Any fishing license (resident, non-resident, annual, or short term) from either state (NC or TN) will suffice and no trout stamp is required to fish in the GSMNP. If you are a non-resident who will fish only in the park and therefore don't care which state's license you purchase it is cheaper to purchase a NC state license versus a TN state license. A NC 10-day non-resident fishing license is $10, and annual is $30; a TN 3-day non-resident fishing license is $16.50, 10-day is $25.50, and annual is $41. One last item in favor of an NC license versus TN license--the NC annual license is good for 1 year from date of purchase, not current calendar year.
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:38 AM.

Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.