Home QLinks New Posts Members User CP Calendar FAQ

Go Back   Little River Outfitters Forum > Fly Fishing Board > Fly Fishing for Trout in Other States

Old 01-06-2009, 11:28 AM

Default North Mills river

I am brand new to this website and I had a question for the experts in here. I am coming out to the Mills River to do some flyfishing and camping and I have fished here before but it was in the late spring. What kinda bugs should I bring and do you know about flyfishing at night? I have called a couple of shops about flyfishing at night and most say no or they dont know. I really like this river and its small techy casting. I love it. The last time I was there was when I hike on the A.T. and my uncle took me there and it was pretty dang good. Thanks for your help.
Old 01-06-2009, 01:04 PM

Default My Observations

Rob, Welcome! I lived in Littleton and Castle Rock for about 9 years and miss it.

I'm far from an expert and I have never fished on the North Mills, but I can tell you a few things that may help. First, you never mentioned when you were coming to the area. Please let us know when you plan on visiting, as that may have an impact what might be hatching.

There is a link on the LRO Fishing report that lists "Suggested Flies" that's usually a great place to start for any of the mountain streams in the East TN/Western NC area.

Also, much like many of the mountain streams in CO, the fish in the mountains streams here during the prime months are not really picky. Some of my favorites most of the year are:
  • Yellow Stimulator (#14 or #16)
  • Crackleback (#14 or #16 - A new favorite this year)
  • Mr Rapidan Cripple (#14 - A new favorite this year)
  • Doc's Cork (Yellow #14 or #16)
  • Parachute Adams (Grey in winter/late fall - Yellow in Spring #14 or #16)
  • EHCs (Olive, Grey, etc #14 or #16)
  • SMBBSH (#14 - as a dropper behind a light colored #12 nymph)
  • BHPT (#16 - a killer dropper most of the year)